The Prom

The Charleston Light Opera Guild will produce The Prom in the Guild Theatre June 14-16 and 21-23, 2024 during FestivALL Charleston.

The Prom is a musical with music by Matthew Sklar, lyrics by Chad Beguelin and a book by Bob Martin and Beguelin based on an original concept by Jack Wiertel. It debuted on Broadway in 2018 with Beth Leavel, Brooks Ashmanskas, Christopher Siebert and more and was followed by a 2020 film version made for Netflix with a cast that included Meryl Streep, Ariana DeBose, James Corden, Nicole Kidman, Andrew Rannells and others.

Four eccentric Broadway stars are in desperate need of a new stage. So when they hear trouble is brewing about a small town prom, they know it's time to put a spotlight on the issue and - themselves. The town's parents want to keep the high school dance on the straight and narrow - but when one student just wants to bring her girlfriend to the prom, the entire town has a date with destiny. On a mission to transform lives, Broadway's brassiest join forces with a courageous girl and the town's citizens and the result is love that brings them all together. Winner of the Drama Desk Award for Best Musical, The Prom expertly captures all the humor and heart of a classic musical comedy with a message that resonates with audiences now more than ever.


Emma Nolan - Carly Smith

Alyssa Greene - Alexa Sekercak

Barry Glickman - Michael Gore

Dee Dee Allen - Beth Bowden

Trent Oliver - Dylan Carpenter

Tom Hawkins - Eric Hudnall

Sheldon Superstein - Kennie Bass

Angie Dickinson - Heather Allen

Mrs. Greene - Doria Loftis

Kaylee - Allison Miller

Shelby/PTA - Mallory Szerokman

Kevin* - Landon George

Nick* - Adrian Legg

PTA/Olivia Keating* - Toni Pilato

PTA/2nd Reporter* - Tauletha Chaffin

Coach/Motel Clerk - Jonathan Raines

Student Ensemble - Skyler Baldwin, Rome Bragg, Addison Chaffin*, Samuel Counts, Jake Epling*, Olivia Hayhurts, Aiden Kinser, Kendall Marcum, William (Luke) McDougal, Jordan Murphy*, Cooper Lindsay, Savannah Stolper, Dulce Vance*

(*) Indicates member of the Godspell cast



Nina Denton Pasinetti

Musical Director/Accompanist

David Patrick

Dance Assistant

Shakira Martin

Technical Director

Thomas P. Pasinetti