Into the Woods

The Charleston Light Opera Guild will present Into the Woods April 19-21 and 26-28, 2024 at the Charleston Coliseum Theater.

Charleston Light Opera Guild has changed the first production of the group's 75th Anniversary to Into the Woods due to casting conflicts with Beautiful: The Carole King Musical. Into the Woods blends the well-known fairy tales of Cinderella, Rapunzel, Jack and the Beanstalk, and Little Red Riding Hood with an original story of the Baker and his Wife who catalyze the action by attempting to reverse a witch's curse on their family in order to have a child. In the first act all the characters set out to achieve their goal of living "Happily Every After". Act Two deals with the consequences that traditional fairy tales conveniently ignore. Composer Stephen Sondheim and author James Lapine spin a tale of new and old storybook characters on a journey of growth and self-discovery. The tales intertwine in the woods where all inner darkness is confronted.

Into the Woods opened on Broadway in 1987 and won several Tony Awards that included best score and best book. The musical has since been produced many times with a Broadway revival in 2002, movie version in 2014, NYC Roundabout Theatre production in 2015, national tours, and a 2nd Broadway revival in 2022. This will mark the fourth production of the popular musical presented by the Light Opera Guild.


The Witch - Megan Sydnor Collins

The Baker Jacob Fleck

The Baker's Wife Lauren Meyer

Cinderella Kayla Jackson

Narrator/Mysterious Man Horace Emery

Cinderella's Prince/Wolf Ian Jessee

Rapunzel's Prince Dakota Burdette

Jack Jackson Johnson

Jack's Mother Julie Dodrill

Little Red Riding Hood Taylor Shaw

Cinderella's Stepmother Natasha Allen

Rapunzel - Elaina Smith

Florinda - Kennedy Snider-Pifer

Lucinda Dwedee Kobbah

Cinderella's Mother/Granny - Hope Griffith

Cinderella's Father - J.D. Simpson

The Steward - Dewey Fletcher

Sleeping Beauty - Peyton Austin

Snow White - Dulce Vance



Nina Denton Pasinetti

Musical Director

David Patrick


John Patrick

Technical Director

Tom Pasinetti