42nd Street

Charleston Light Opera Guild will present the singing and dancing classic, 42nd Street, at the Little Theater at the Charleston Coliseum & Convention Center (formerly the Civic Center) on April 26, 27 and May 3, 4, 5, 10 and 11, 2019.

Few shows can match the dazzling 42nd Street score by Al Dubin and Harry Warren containing hits like Lullaby of Broadway, Shuffle Off to Buffalo, About A Quarter to Nine, We're In the Money, and the title song, 42nd Street. The book by Michael Steward-Mark Bramble is adapted from the 1944 Warner Brothers film by the same name. 42nd Street is one hundred percent honest-to-goodness musical comedy.

42nd Street, set in 1933, celebrates the stuff dreams are made of. The 1944 movie starred Ruby Keeler and Dick Powell and featured big and bold dancing and production pieces created by Busby Berkley. The plot is simple - young girl from Allentown, Pennsylvania comes to New York to get into a show, star of the show breaks her ankle the night before the show opens out-of-town, and the young girl steps out of the chorus to take over the lead and make the show a hit and herself a Broadway star. In other words, the classic American dream.

The musical was first presented on Broadway in 1981 and received a Tony Award for Best Musical. It was the last creation of noted film star and Broadway director/choreographer, Gower Champion, who succumbed to cancer on opening night.

Charleston Light Opera Guild previously presented 42nd Street in 1987 and 2001.


Singing: Monday, February 4 @ 7:30 p.m. - prepare vocal selection and bring sheet music for Guild accompanist

Reading: Tuesday, February 5 @ 7:30 p.m. - scripts will be provided

Dancing: Wednesday, February 6 @ 7:30 pm. - dress to dance and show your physique; tap and musical theater combinations will be taught

*All auditions held at the Guild Theatre*



Nina Denton Pasinetti

Musical Director/Conductor

Bobby Hodges, Jr.


John Patrick

Technical Director

Tom Pasinetti

Special workshops to improve your tap skills will be held at the Guild Theatre on January 29, 30 and 31 at 7:30 p.m. for ages 15 - adults!


Dorothy Brock - established Broadway star; alto; mid-age; dramatic flair actress

Peggy Sawyer - talented young hopeful performer; mezzo-soprano; must tap

Julian Marsh - Broadway show director; 30s-60s; baritone; strong personality

Maggie Jones - co-author of show within show, Pretty Lady; mid-age; alto; comedic ability

Bert Barry - co-author of Pretty Lady; mid-age; baritone; comedic ability

Billy Lawlor - male lead of Pretty Lady; 20s; tenor with range; dances

Ann Reilly (Anytime Annie) - chorus girl; mezzo/high alto; 20s-30s; must tap

Andy Lee - dance director of Pretty Lady; baritone; mid-age; must tap

Pat Denning - former vaudeville partner of Dorothy Brock; mid-age; baritone; sings very little

Abner Dillon - financier for Pretty Lady and sugar daddy of Dorothy Brock; mid-age; baritone

Phyllis Dale - principal chorus girl; soprano; 17-30s; must tap

Lorraine Fleming - principal chorus girl; soprano; 17-30s; must tap

Character roles of gangsters, policeman, doctor, etc. / Large Chorus / Dancers